We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpOpenGL and 3D Libraries › Beginner: OpenGL ... Robert Hodgin questions
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Beginner: OpenGL ... Robert Hodgin questions (Read 1295 times)
Beginner: OpenGL ... Robert Hodgin questions
Dec 15th, 2008, 4:16am

Hi,

I'm very new to processing, and to OpenGL. My questions, and interest, were sparked when I found Robert Hodgin's demo of what appears to be a sun created with processing (http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=wEh8Ema9n9w#t=0m50s) ...

A few of my questions are:

- What is actually happening in this visual? Are images being used for anything?
- What is creating the firey haze around the sun? Is that particles?
- What is creating the tiny glowing particles orbiting the sun?

I'm not really looking for in-depth maths or anything, as I can learn that myself once I know what's happening, but if somebody could tell me in laymans terms what each of the elements of the visuals are then that would be great Smiley

I'm really just trying to figure out any of the basic ideas of how to create something like this. Obviously it will be a long time before I can do it myself, but I need a starting point so I know what stuff I should start to learn.

Thanks

Re: Beginner: OpenGL ... Robert Hodgin questions
Reply #1 - Dec 16th, 2008, 1:40am

check out some of the source he's released on his blog...
some good techniques in there that will answer some of your questions.
Reply #2 - Dec 16th, 2008, 2:25am

Believe me, I've read everything on these forums and on his blog but unfortunately, unless you understand what is happening, you don't know what to look into further.