We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexDiscussionExhibition › Text-Adventure game in Processing
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Text-Adventure game in Processing (Read 1951 times)
Text-Adventure game in Processing
Nov 15th, 2008, 7:28am

Hi there,

I am taking a beginning Processing course and for my final assignment, I am going to make a mini text-adventure game with PImages as the background images for each virtual room.

I just making a "proof of concept" and hardly a full game as I only have 3 weeks to come up with something and I am quite new to programming in general...
So, it would just be something with a few rooms and items in the inventory.

For reference, I have explored this Java based tutorial:
http://www.javacoffeebreak.com/text-adventure/index.html

However, I have not seen any documentation of creating a text-adventure game within the Processing environment itself...

Any suggestions of where to look or any ideas about how to make that JAVA tutorial even more Processing-friendly?

Thanks!
Jeremy
Re: Text-Adventure game in Processing
Reply #1 - Nov 17th, 2008, 12:45am

Yeesh. One of the pronounced limitations of Processing I found was its "single-state" nature. That is to say, that programs can only have SETUP and DRAW and that's it. Having branching event paths would be perhaps not-impossible but certainly difficult in Processing.

I guess you could write each Event as an Object and use Switch:Case to implement each possible scenario. I'm not sure how you'd "pause" for input, since noLoop() would cause draw to cease altogether.