We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpOther Libraries › P5Sunflow how to??
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
P5Sunflow how to???? (Read 2553 times)
P5Sunflow how to????
May 9th, 2008, 6:41am

Hi there!!! I am quite new to processing and I've seen amazing work done with sunflow and processing. I want to get p5sunflow up and running in my machine but just can't seem to be getting anywhere. Every place I read says that I need java 1.5 but processing works with 1.4 and I haven't found anywhere that gives a reasonable guide to using java 1.5 or just making P5Sunflow work. Everyone seems to be hardcore programmers that know perfectly what they are doing and how to do it =( (and where to find what they need to do it). So... is there anybody patient enough that is willing to help me with P5Sunflow?

First of all how to get java 1.5 working with Processing? I've seen posts that say I need to copy the jre into processing substituting the java folder but i don't know where in my mac is the 1.5 jre or what files to copy. Another solution is to use any other editor and import the core library but.... in eclipse it just won't run the .java generated by processing What am I doing wrong????

Thanks to anyone brave enough to help me or even read this post! A noob really appreciates it! =) cheers!
Re: P5Sunflow how to????
Reply #1 - May 10th, 2008, 11:13pm

If I run: print(System.getProperty("java.version"));
I get 1.6.0_05

I have not downloaded the "full" version of Processing but the "expert" one, without Java.
Before installing it, I have downloaded and installed Java 1.6 from Sun's site.