We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
increasing video performance (Read 987 times)
increasing video performance
Dec 6th, 2007, 9:13pm

hi,

i am also pretty new to the big wide world of processing.
right now i am desperetly trying to playback video without lagging. but this seems to be a very difficult topic.

so here are my questions:

is there any way to increase the performance of a video that's simply played.

like what quicktime compressors can you suggest?
right now i used the H.264 codec

is there maybe an other library out there which plays video, and works better?

what pc or mac performance do you suggest at least for playing video files lets say 700x500?

here's the code i used maybe there's something wrong or to improve too.

import processing.video.*;
Movie myMovie;

void setup (){
 size (2200,800);
 myMovie = new Movie(this, "round_web.mov");
 myMovie.play();
   }

void draw() {
 image(myMovie, 0, 0,1100,800);
}

void movieEvent(Movie m) {
 m.read();
}

thank you

marc
Re: increasing video performance
Reply #1 - Dec 7th, 2007, 1:10am

Processing isn't very good with video. also see problem section on this page:
http://processing.org/reference/libraries/video/index.html

You probably need a very fast machine to get smooth video in that size. You can also try the FasterMovie class, which is faster because it's not a framegrabber as the built-in library is.
http://processing.org/discourse/yabb_beta/YaBB.cgi?board=os_core_pde;action=display;num=1175633922
Reply #2 - Dec 7th, 2007, 2:15pm

thank you!

the FasterMovie class is pretty nice!
but it seems like it is really only for playing back a video.