We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
which book (Read 1418 times)
which book
Nov 20th, 2007, 10:20pm

So I'm an experienced Java developer who has had a lot of fun with Processing: (all but the top 3 on http://kisrael.com/features/java/ )

Is one of the books a good bet for me? Part of my fear is too much time on the basics of programming, but it looks like they go beyond that somewhat...

Or would I be better served by just hunkering down with the examples etc on the site? In particular a lot of exciting stuff seems to have happened in terms of libraries and integrations, but almost all of my stuff has stuck with "core Processing" so to speak.
Re: which book
Reply #1 - Nov 20th, 2007, 10:57pm

I am a semi-similar boat. While I haven't gone deep into Processing, I am familiar with java and programming in general. I have been eyeballing Ben's unreleased book, Visualizing Data from OReilly. I have been reading the rough cuts, has none of the "intro to programming" stuff which is nice. But of course that book has a very specific focus (as the title implies). If you do end up getting one of the books I'd love to hear your thoughts about it.
Reply #2 - Nov 22nd, 2007, 7:52am

Our book (Reas/Fry) is written for the beginner to intermediate audience. We go through the basics in detail. I think it would also be appropriate for a good programmer without much experience with programming visuals and motion. I recommend looking at the PDF sample and the table of contents:
http://www.processing.org/learning/books/

Casey
Reply #3 - Nov 23rd, 2007, 5:43pm