We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
glitch art (Read 2880 times)
glitch art
Oct 17th, 2007, 5:29pm

hey there,

i was wondering if there is a way to load images or even movies into processing and mess with their binary data, so that the result would be a messed-up glitch-esque piece of art.

i'm not that experienced with processing, so i don't even know how to load these files as binaries.

any suggestions?

thanks a lot!

EDIT:
one approach that comes to my mind:
converting an image to a textfile, randomly mess around with the content, and then add a gif/jpg/whatever header again.
is that possible?
Re: glitch art
Reply #1 - Oct 17th, 2007, 6:49pm

i think you can loadStrings() and saveStrings() with bmp files. just tested with textedit / photoshop .. gives funny results

F
Reply #2 - Oct 18th, 2007, 4:07pm

thanks i'll give it a try.

the problem (for me) is to write a routine that systematically changes the content of the file.
if you just randomly f*** around, you might destroy the file's header, or make it unreadable by giving it an "unexpected end of file".

has anyone tried to do this before? someone able to provide me with some code snippets?

thanks

EDIT:
ok, reading a normal .bmp file (1.5 mb) simply takes forever to load with loadstrings.

what i did:
------

String lines[] = loadStrings("test.bmp");
println("there are " + lines.length + " lines");
for (int i=0; i < lines.length; i++) {
 println(lines[i]);
}
-------

processing acutally does output the lines of the file, but it takes about 2 minutes or something.

is there a faster way to load the text content of an image?

EDIT 2:
alright, stupid me.