We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpPrograms › Processing in structural engineering
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Processing in structural engineering (Read 502 times)
Processing in structural engineering
Aug 13th, 2007, 11:24pm

Hi all,

I'm new to this site and programming system. I stumbled upon your site through rAndom International's website. I'm a structural engineering student and I've been looking for a 3D modeling system that I could use to rapidly illustrate the modeling of structures. What I'm looking for in this system is as follows:

- use input data files of nodes and lines and generate 3D (wireframe) views of the model. (I think processing is capable of doing this)
- rotate, zoom, pan the model (again I think processing can do this)
- annotate the lines with things such as the material, section properties and connection details. What I have in mind in terms of annotating is having the user either hover-over or click a line and get this information in a tool-tip or balloon. I would prefer to have these information included in a data file as well where they are indexed to the lines.
- as a huge bonus, have the lines rendered as sections (such as pipes, I beams, etc.) based on the section properties and the orientation of the line defined by an auxiliary point. That is to say give the user the option of seeing a rendered view of the model instead of the wireframe.