We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSound,  Music Libraries › set position & volume
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
set position & volume (Read 976 times)
set position & volume
Jul 3rd, 2007, 11:06am

Hi there!

I'm new in Processing, so I've got 2 problems to solve:
I work with the new Minim Library, because I want to record and playback sound. Important for my code is, that it works with only two keys, because at the end I want to use a switch (Arduino) to control processing.

The first problem: If I want to record something, but the player is already playing, the player should stop. After the recording the player should play again from the position it stopped before. I don't get it to set a position when the player stops and to let the player play again from this position. What did I wrong?

The second problem: After every loop, the player should set its volume down, I don't know how to do this.

Perhaps someone can help me? Is for my studies and I don't have really much time...

Thank you!!!

Here is the code:

import ddf.minim.*;

AudioInput in;
AudioRecorder recorder;
AudioPlayer player = null;

int pos = 0;

void setup()
{
 size(512, 200);

Minim.start(this);

in = Minim.getLineIn(Minim.STEREO, 512);

recorder = Minim.createRecorder(in, "myrecording.wav", true);

}

void draw()
{
 background(0);
}

void keyPressed()
{

if ( key == 's' )
 {
   if ( recorder.isRecording() )
   {
     recorder.endRecord();
   }

AudioRecording recording = recorder.save();
   player = new AudioPlayer(recording);
   //player.loop();
   println(player.length()+" "+ player.position()+" "+pos);
   player.skip((int)pos);