We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpPrograms › mapping an image over particles
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
mapping an image over particles (Read 912 times)
mapping an image over particles
Mar 9th, 2007, 12:01pm

hi,

ok, let's go. I have to achieve a project in three weeks that will needs intensive processing work. That's why i'm asking these questions there. Alsomore, i'm quite new with processing. Time is precious and any suggestions may help me to earn a lot of time. So i apologize by advance if my questions are redundants on this board.  

In fact, a photograph will send me soon some pictures mainly in black & white. I would like to make a sketch that will deal with particles and vectors. So i need to cut picture and map it over a particles system. That's my first question "how to cut an image and automatically map it over a particles system" ?

My second question concerns the finalisation of the project. By experience when i deal with a lot of particles (500 or 2000)in some exemples it run very slowly on my computer. So what's the better to keep 'em fluid and usable ? to export each frame as .tga pictures and then go to other software to make a video ? To user moviemake library and run the skectch without make it display anything on the screen ? What's the better processing rendered for that p3d or opengl?  I need fluid and high quality output as i'll be display by a beamer. I'm sure it's possible as i saw some great exhibitions made with processing.