We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpPrograms › Render Problem
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Render Problem (Read 814 times)
Render Problem
Feb 21st, 2007, 6:34pm

Hi everyone:  
I'm Decinoge, and i'm a portuguese student of what is suposed to be Digital Arts.

introduction made, i'm goin straight to the point. i'm trying to do some cool effects for a background, using likes and circles, simple stuff like lines scrooling down. to make it even more interesting, i've taken advantage of pushMatrix(), translate() and rotateX/Y/Z(), with great success. I was doing all this in a "surface" created with PGraphics, createGraphics() more specifly. everything was fine cause i had a prety surface, where i could draw whatever i wanted, and then POW, on the back. however createGraphics() only works with JAVA2D and P3D. JAVA2D is out of question because my prety elevated points (with Z values bigger than 0) couldn't be done. And P3D is slow as a  $1000 dollar wh**e (no harm meanted for the creator, it just aint the right tool for this work). well, i eleminated my surface, and made it directly into the "screen". its great because i'm runing it in open GL, and my frame rate went from 40 up to 50up (almost 60, even with a framerate set of 50). BUT... and here comes the problem, the "elevated points" now appear IN FRONT of the things that are drawn on the background. that is terrible because i dont apreciate having my stuff messed with a BACKGROUND.

the question is, is there any way of doing the background drawing in a surface, that would be rendered with openGL instead of P3D?

or