We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpPrograms › Newb who wants to make game
Pages: 1 2 3 
Newb who wants to make game (Read 7769 times)
Newb who wants to make game
Jan 14th, 2007, 2:40am

I have always been interested in making games and I was about to make one using the phrogram trial when I realised I could not export games with it. I found processing on the internet and was extremely intrigued.

I am a total newb to JAVA but I know somewhat of programming from using varied forms of KPL. I need to have someone walk through with me the creation of the game and tell me how to get the code right. I've learned a bit about java from trial and error. Can ANYONE tell me how to get a game up and running.

This first thing I need to know is how to load animated sprites and move them.

By the way, I am looking to make a super mario style shooter game with basic controls (forward backward jetpack shoot bomb run) and relatively simple graphics (amazing compared to mario.

I hope this experience will allow me to get a good understanding at java and programming.
Re: Newb who wants to make game
Reply #1 - Jan 14th, 2007, 4:40am

Your enthusiasm is awesome, but asking for someone to walk you through how to make a game is a bit broad for a single forum topic. I'm just going to briefly address your question about animated sprites.

As a prelude to that, I should mention that if you are not familiar with the concept of Object-Oriented programming, I'd suggest you read through these tutorials:

http://java.sun.com/docs/books/tutorial/java/index.html