We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpSound,  Music Libraries › ProMIDI / Linux / JVM 1.5
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
ProMIDI / Linux / JVM 1.5 (Read 1225 times)
ProMIDI / Linux / JVM 1.5
Nov 20th, 2006, 8:30pm

Hi All:
I'm new to processing and i've been working with promidi to make some tests. Processing is working flawlessly in my system (AMD Sempron 3100, Linux/Slackware 11, JDK 1.5_09, Processing 0121), until I tried to get promidi to work with a USB/MIDI device (an Evolution UC33e). The midi interface worked fine with NetBeans 5.0. But in Processing, it didn't recognize the devices correctly (it showed just the Java default devices). After some tinkering, I replaced the reference in the 'processing' shell script to point to my system's JVM, and... ¡voila!, everything works fine. Or I hope it to work fine. Heres the doubt: The JVM that is distributed with processing, does have something "special"? Should *that one* be the one to be used, or is just a plain vanilla jvm?

Greetz!

Daniel Pliscoff

ps: Just as a reference, I'm using the same config on Win XP, and It Just Works Wink
Re: ProMIDI / Linux / JVM 1.5
Reply #1 - Nov 20th, 2006, 11:54pm

it's just a vanilla jvm that's included with linux. replace as necessary:
http://processing.org/reference/environment/platforms.html#linux
Reply #2 - Nov 21st, 2006, 4:54pm

Thanks (yes, yes, I had to read the documentation more thoroughly Wink ).