We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProcessing DevelopmentCore,  Processing Development Environment (PDE) › Interested in Joining the Development Team
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Interested in Joining the Development Team (Read 2958 times)
Interested in Joining the Development Team
Oct 21st, 2006, 10:30pm

Hi,

I'm a C/C++ programmer with experience in audio and 3D graphics on Windows. I'm interested in getting some experience working on a large scale java project.

I've downloaded the Processing source code however I haven't been able to get it to compile. I'm not using Cywin however I have all the other development tools installed.

When I do a build I'm getting the following errors:

$ make.sh
Building processing.core
c:/programming/processing/app/preproc/PdePreprocessor.java:302:5:302:12: Semanti                   c Error: Type "processing.app.preproc.PdeLexer" was not found.
c:/programming/processing/app/preproc/PdePreprocessor.java:302:27:302:34: Semant                   ic Error: Type "PdeLexer" was not found.                

etc...

Any idea what's going on here?

Also, how do you guys go about debugging if you're not using an IDE?

Cheers,

Chris
Re: Interested in Joining the Development Team
Reply #1 - Oct 23rd, 2006, 3:49pm

that'd be great if you can help.

the build scripts are designed to work with cygwin, that's why the instructions say to install it. if you're not using it, then the build is gonna break.

as for debugging, i watch for exceptions and use println as necessary. sometimes the core and libraries i'll debug with eclipse, but the environment itself i handle via command line.
Reply #2 - Oct 23rd, 2006, 5:27pm