We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
Pages: 1 2 
GUI for Development? (Read 4068 times)
GUI for Development?
Oct 27th, 2005, 8:58pm

Hi,

My name is Trevor Linton, i'm a fairly experienced java programmer and i'm pretty impressed by what you've accomplished with processing. I'm curious if anyone has thought of doing a graphical user interface to creating processing applications.

I would be interested in helping out with a project of this type.

Any thoughts?

Thanks

-t
Re: GUI for Development?
Reply #1 - Oct 27th, 2005, 10:09pm

Hi there,

I think the most advanced GUI we saw was http://www.thbbpt.net/interfascia/.

I think you would be mroe then welcome, a proper GUI lib for Processing would boosts its prominence in doing usable stuff with it, so I guess it would be tremendous.
Reply #2 - Nov 13th, 2005, 4:24pm

What about Swing or SWT?
Reply #3 - Nov 13th, 2005, 8:09pm

Swing would limit you to Java 2 and later, which is becoming less of an issue, but an issue none-the-less.  SWT would require the program to run as standalone, since it requires native libraries.

However, while not simple to integrate in its current form, thinlet is a small (39KB) Java 1.1 (and applet) compatible gui with quite a number of features.  It allows for custom widgets (ie, a Processing canvas), but it would take a little bit of hacking to get them to play well with each other.  Certainly a project worth exploring though, for anyone interested in advanced GUI work with Processing, but doesn't want to let go of Applet and Java 1.1 support.

Marcello
Reply #4 - Nov 13th, 2005, 10:50pm