We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
What webcams do you recommend? (Read 2224 times)
What webcams do you recommend?
Sep 26th, 2006, 9:50pm

Hi,
I'm new at processing. I've been reading all the topics regarding video, but I couldn't find some kind of recommendation about what cameras work best with the environment. I'd like to get a decent web cam and do some sketching of ideas for a few months at least, and then after that *maybe* get a proper video camera (mini dv with firewire input or similar).

What webcam brands/models are known to be good for this kind of work? Image/drivers/configuration quality?

Thanks for your kind help.
Re: What webcams do you recommend?
Reply #1 - Sep 27th, 2006, 4:32am

This is a very useful topic. Hopefully people will post what's working well for them. The answers are different for Mac and PC.

For PC, JMyron is the fastest library. I think there is a list of cameras that work for this library listed on their website. I think fewer cameras work with JMyron than with the Video library.

I don't have any passion or love for the two webcams I test things on, but they both work OK -- they are both mid-level Logitech cams.
Reply #2 - Sep 27th, 2006, 9:30am

I am also using a not so expensive logitech. I think its called 'Quickcam for Notebooks'. Picture isnt amazing but after all it is a webcam. Once i got WinVDIG sorted it has been working flawlessy with processing.

Played with an iSight yesterday, the picture looked a little nicer than my Logitech but it is more expensive.

Reply #3 - Sep 27th, 2006, 10:17am

mid-level creative on a pc laptop here with no problems.