We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexDiscussionGeneral Discussion,  Status › Porting Processing to C++
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Porting Processing to C++? (Read 1770 times)
Porting Processing to C++?
Feb 9th, 2006, 12:40am

I've been playing around with c++ on and off for the past year or so, but after i found processing i havn't really looked at it.. mostly because processing is a new idea, and i love joining in on new (good) ideas ..

I started playing with c++ again this week, and suddenly i thought; "wouldn't it be possible to make a processing-ish language for c++?", and yes.. of course it would.. alot of work, but it could work..
Is there anybody who would be willing to give this a shot?
I'm more than willing to put in a lot of hours on this, but i still would need all the help i could get.

sincerely

seltar
Re: Porting Processing to C++?
Reply #1 - Feb 9th, 2006, 6:06am

It'd be a major waste of time, in my opinion.

You're not going to get much in the way of speed benefits.  You're better off going with the OpenGL engine than with c++, it'll give you a much higher speed gain.

Sure, it's possible, but there really aren't much in the way of advantages in this day and age.
Reply #2 - Feb 9th, 2006, 8:27am

The reason i want to do this is so people that have learned processing also have a more powerful (but still simplistic) language to deal with, that works sortof the same way.

And the advantages i can see are (real) win32 applications, which gives you alot to work with.

-seltar
Reply #3 - Feb 9th, 2006, 11:35am