FAQ
Cover
This is the archive Discourse for the Processing (ALPHA) software.
Please visit the new Processing forum for current information.

Processing 1.0 _ALPHA_
   Discussion
   General Processing Discussion
(Moderators: fry, REAS)
   Algorithms: Filling in the gaps
« Previous topic | Next topic »

Pages: 1 
   Author  Topic: Algorithms: Filling in the gaps  (Read 543 times)
grefo
Email
Algorithms: Filling in the gaps
« on: Apr 2nd, 2004, 3:32am »

In a recent job interview, the interviewee(?) told me that self-taught developers typically have a gap in their knowledge when it comes to translating a problem statement into the abstract world of programming languages. I am aware of this hole which, appearently is a good trait, but where to go to fill it in?

Would someone be willing to share the steps they took in finding a problem, creating the algorithm, and then programming the solution?

This could be beneficial to new Processing users as it could  give some guidance in their learning. Would anyone be willing to mentor newbies?

BTW, to the folks who created this amazing tool, thanks. I have been following it for a couple of years, and greatly appreciate the efforts!

~Greg
Kingston, WA

justo

Re: Algorithms: Filling in the gaps
« Reply #1 on: Apr 2nd, 2004, 4:41am »

i guess it might be "algorithms and data structures"? its a pretty early course in any computer science track, and one thats actually a lot more interesting (well, maybe not interesting) and useful than it sounds. its usually only about writing programs to solve various problems.

the simplest way to fill the "hole" would be to pick up a book on the subject. there are literally like a billion of them, so the trick is really just to get some recommendations on which books are actually interesting and have problems in them...then once you have the book, actually do the problems. nothing is a substitute for practice.