FAQ
Cover
This is the archive Discourse for the Processing (ALPHA) software.
Please visit the new Processing forum for current information.

Processing 1.0 _ALPHA_
   Suggestions
   Software Suggestions
(Moderator: fry)
   diabling multi-threading in mouse and kbd events
« Previous topic | Next topic »

Pages: 1 
   Author  Topic: diabling multi-threading in mouse and kbd events  (Read 405 times)
arielm

diabling multi-threading in mouse and kbd events
« on: Sep 4th, 2003, 3:35pm »

as an extension to this discussion:
http://proce55ing.net/discourse/yabb/board_Syntax_action_displa_y_num_1062622554.html

from a lingo/actionscript/dhtml user point of view, and as well as from a total beginner's point of view, i think it's counter intuitive and prone to current and future problems to have a situation where the code inside mouse and keyboards events is not running in the same "thread" as the code in loop().

as an example, the following Code:

void setup()  
{    
  size(500, 500);    
}    

void loop()  
{
  // things...  
}  

void mouseMoved()  
{    
  fill(0, 0, 0);    
  ellipse(mouseX, mouseY, 50, 50);    
}  

is currently producing a terrible flickering instead of a more predictable/intuitive behavior (simply a circle being drawn, following the mouse...)

maybe all this has been already discussed, and the current way of doing is the best technical compromise or is there a place to look for alternatives

e.g. continuing to internally grab keyboard input asynchronously, but exposing the data as a buffer instead of a single variable, and having Bagel call the user's keyPress method on "idle" (i.e. between frames)...

Ariel Malka | www.chronotext.org
benelek

35160983516098 WWW Email
Re: diabling multi-threading in mouse and kbd even
« Reply #1 on: Sep 4th, 2003, 5:30pm »

wouldn't it already be working that way with the new api to have users call background() manually wherever they want in each loop()?

fry

« Reply #2 on: Sep 4th, 2003, 6:18pm »