FAQ
Cover
This is the archive Discourse for the Processing (ALPHA) software.
Please visit the new Processing forum for current information.

Processing 1.0 _ALPHA_
   Programming Questions & Help
   Integration
(Moderators: fry, REAS)
   Processing code to Java/OpenGL
« Previous topic | Next topic »

Pages: 1 
   Author  Topic: Processing code to Java/OpenGL  (Read 18375 times)
timjaeger

Email
Processing code to Java/OpenGL
« on: Feb 15th, 2005, 11:04pm »

Hi,

I'm fairly new to processing, but might be working on it for an upcoming project. What might happen, however, is eventually using just plain Java with OpenGL.

The question I have is, to people who have been using Processing / Java / OpenGL for a while, how easy (or possible/time consuming/etc.) is it to write the majority of the code in Processing language, then 'convert' it to Java/OpenGL?

I'm almost completely new to OpenGL, and have some programming experience with PHP, Java, etc.

TomC

Re: Processing code to Java/OpenGL
« Reply #1 on: Feb 16th, 2005, 10:56am »

Short answer - it depends what you're doing.

Long answer - see my post here: http://processing.org/discourse/yabb/board_Contribution_Simlati_on_action_display_num_1078518419.html

(I was comparing C++/OpenGL to Processing there; Java/OpenGL pretty much sits in between them).

If you're not in a hurry, an OpenGL renderer is in the works for Processing which should allow stuff to run full-screen with hardware acceleration.  You'd have to have speed as your over-riding number one priority not to use Processing then.

My advice would be to try it in Processing and see, but bear in mind that fonts, webcams/videos, images and pixel manipulations will be the biggest headaches to convert.  Drawing code and data processing should be reasonably quick to convert.

timjaeger

Email
Re: Processing code to Java/OpenGL
« Reply #2 on: Feb 16th, 2005, 7:26pm »

TomC,