FAQ
Cover
This is the archive Discourse for the Processing (ALPHA) software.
Please visit the new Processing forum for current information.

Processing 1.0 _ALPHA_
   Programming Questions & Help
   Integration
(Moderators: fry, REAS)
   processing graphics vs java graphics ?
« Previous topic | Next topic »

Pages: 1 
   Author  Topic: processing graphics vs java graphics ?  (Read 1417 times)
James

processing graphics vs java graphics ?
« on: Jan 14th, 2005, 2:19pm »

hello everyone,

I have so many questions it's hard to know where to begin. I started learning java and processing last weekend. I've been sat here pretty much ever since and am quite dizzy with all the new info running around my head.

ok, firstly, and to save me clogging this board with loads of pure java questions, I'd really appreciate it if anyone can recommend their favourite source of java tutorials. I have found this site : http://www.particle.kth.se/~lindsey/JavaCourse/Book/index.html
usefull but in general am still fairly bewildered by the multitude of differing views on how to do stuff in java.

secondly, (and this is really the topic of my post) I am wondering about the processing image and drawing methods and how they compare to using say the java graphics2D stuff? are processing image and drawing methods actually extensions of existing java graphics libraries??

ok, i better leave it at that for this post.
thanks,

james

fry

Re: processing graphics vs java graphics ?
« Reply #1 on: Jan 14th, 2005, 6:39pm »

processing is built on java, but doesn't use any of its graphics. java2d is only available in java 1.2 and higher, and the majority of the world is still using 1.1, so processing has been built to work in 1.1, and does all its own drawing, at the pixel level, into a MemoryImageSource (in case you hear that term in your java studying).