FAQ
Cover
This is the archive Discourse for the Processing (ALPHA) software.
Please visit the new Processing forum for current information.

Processing 1.0 _ALPHA_
   Teaching
   Course Blueprints
(Moderators: pitaru, REAS)
   eureka!
« No topic | Next topic »

Pages: 1 
   Author  Topic: eureka!  (Read 1527 times)
arielm

eureka!
« on: Nov 23rd, 2003, 2:37am »

it took me some time, and a respectable amount of neurones were sacrified to this task, but i finally start to understand something about what it takes to make a successful processing workshop!

okay, it's not a secret... casey, amoeba and others definitely put these things into every-day practice, but this could be helpful for people who are going to be stuck at some point with the following kind of questions:

on Oct 23rd, 2003, 10:46pm, arielm wrote:
frankly, do you think it's possible to make an interesting processing workshop (~ 3 x 7 hours) targeted to total beginners in programming

at that time, i guess i was stuck because i started to put on paper all the basic programming concepts (not specific to processing) i could think of, e.g.:

- structure (comments, flow...)
- variables
- arithmetics and operators
- conditions
- functions
- iterations
- input/output...

the problem with this approach is that if you really want to teach all these concepts in an effective way, you need:

- time, lots of time (nothing less than weeks) for people to really digest and practice things.
- super motivated people (i.e. that won't drop in the middle).

in addition, it can turn to be very boring (useful, but boring), and it can easily bring the class to places that are very far away from what people like about electronic arts...

so, that was obviously not the right direction!

in parallel, by looking at some casey's workshop materials, i felt on this strong hint: "These are not programming exercises - they are visual and programming exercises",

then... on Oct 24th, 2003, 2:11pm, amoeba wrote: