FAQ
Cover
This is the archive Discourse for the Processing (ALPHA) software.
Please visit the new Processing forum for current information.

Processing 1.0 _ALPHA_
   Topics & Contributions
   Sound
(Moderators: pitaru, REAS)
   Sound stretching
« Previous topic | Next topic »

Pages: 1 
   Author  Topic: Sound stretching  (Read 891 times)
flight404

WWW Email
Sound stretching
« on: Jan 6th, 2004, 5:55pm »

I saw this a couple days ago and I became quite enamored.

http://www.involving-systems.com/hrr.html

Watch the video and for the goods, scrub through 33% of it to get to the demo.  Great stuff.

So I started playing around with Sonia to see how close I could get to reproducing the audio effect.

http://www.flight404.com/p5/soundStretch/

Not that good in the long run.  My math is probably really off.  My code is uncommented.  And there are lots of static pops.  But fun for annoying coworkers!

I plan on playing with this more but need to get headphones.  

-robert

UPDATE-------------------------
Oh, in case you are wondering, here is what is happening.

I have a sound sample, in this case a snipet from a Bjork song. That sound is 2 seconds long.  The two moving dots represent the start and end of the sound sample with the line between the two representing the entirety of the sound.  The line down the middle can be thought of as a playhead.  As the line between the two dots 'moves' across the playhead, the applet plays a bit of the sound file at a determined rate.  And voila!!!  Annoying noise!!!

« Last Edit: Jan 6th, 2004, 5:57pm by flight404 »  
pitaru

WWW Email
Re: Sound stretching
« Reply #1 on: Jan 6th, 2004, 8:04pm »

wow - how did you find that project? amazing - thanks for sharing!

however, i'm not sure that they are changing the audio-rate. i think the vectors simply indicate which region ofthe sample should be played.

In any case, i think you should look into Sonia's LiveOutput: http://www.pitaru.com/sonia/examples/LiveOutput/index.html

-amit