FAQ
Cover
This is the archive Discourse for the Processing (ALPHA) software.
Please visit the new Processing forum for current information.

Processing 1.0 _ALPHA_
   Topics & Contributions
   Information Visualization
(Moderators: forkinsocket, REAS)
   visualizing metabolic networks (2d->3d)
« Previous topic | Next topic »

Pages: 1 
   Author  Topic: visualizing metabolic networks (2d->3d)  (Read 717 times)
Joel Moxley
Email
visualizing metabolic networks (2d->3d)
« on: Oct 1st, 2003, 5:33pm »

Hi everyone!  I'm very new to processing, so please bear with me.

I was hoping to use yalls expertise on new ways to depict metabolic networks.  I want to take flat metabolic network (nodes and edges) and add a third dimension by assigning an additional attribute to each node.  For example, you could imagine a flat metabolic network made 3d by including reductive potential of each of the molecules.

Histogram looked most applicable.  Can you offer any advice or sample files that I can work from?  I figure I'll need to assign an x,y to nodes from a flat network, then add the z attributes, and then depict them.

If you are kind enough to reply, please bear in mind that while I'm a decent programmer, I've got almost no background in Java/processing image rendering.  I've been tooling around looking for good places and starter files to "jump in", but I hope yall can help me get off to the right start.  In other words, can yall recommend a good way to get started?

Many thanks!

Joel

Elrick

Re: visualizing metabolic networks (2d->3d)
« Reply #1 on: Oct 14th, 2003, 8:06pm »

Hi.

By far, the easiest way to get used to processing (or any programming language, I think) is to see what other people have done, see how they did it, and try and duplicate it.  This way you get a goal, a method, and experience all at once.  As far as imaging goes, processing is so incredibly easy..  Read through the pixel, image, and 3d reference categories.. There's not much to it.