FAQ
Cover
This is the archive Discourse for the Processing (ALPHA) software.
Please visit the new Processing forum for current information.

Processing 1.0 _ALPHA_
   Discussion
   Community, Collaboration, Status
(Moderator: REAS)
   Introductions
« Previous topic | Next topic »

Pages: 1 ... 6 7 8 9 10  ...  16
   Author  Topic: Introductions  (Read 33430 times)
kryptondog

kryptondog903 WWW
Re: Introductions
« Reply #105 on: Aug 13th, 2003, 7:42pm »

Hiya.

I'm James LaBove.  I live in southeast Texas (ugh), and I'm going to be starting college in a matter of weeks.  I'm going to be attending Lamar University, where I will be studying graphic design and computer programming.

When I was 13 I first started learning the ins and outs of desktop publishing programs, and within a year of that I was publishing a local magazine called Fathom that lasted for around four years.  In addition to learning how to use Quark Xpress and Adobe Photoshop, I started learning HTML to design the magazine's website.  

I focus most of my creative energy on web design now.  Since the start of this year, any design I put out uses XHTML markup, with content seperated from presentation (including presentational tables) through CSS.  I'm also proficient in PHP and SQL, and I have a working knowledge of EMCAScript and Python.  I also use Flash, but... blegh.

Right now I'm in the process of helping assemble a band (called Stardust) and my mind just went wild with thoughts of all the neat stuff I can do with Processing.  I saw the article about in Wired, and it really piqued my interest.  After viewing the examples though, I was blown away.  Literally EVERYTHING I've ever wanted to do with Flash but couldn't can be done with Processing.  I'm very excited to have discovered this, and I'm also excited to be a part of this community.

olblucat

« Reply #106 on: Aug 13th, 2003, 10:44pm »