Advanced OpenGL Example, Peasycam, ControlP5

Hi all!

I'm not quite sure how to frame this question- I'm a processing noob, but as usual, I've jumped in at the deep end, so I'm not sure whether the issue is something basic I'm failing to understand (quite likely).

I created a class to implement a VBO-based grid, taking the Advanced OpenGL example as a starting-point.

Now, I want to render the geometry in the main draw thread. I want to use Peasy Cam to be able to rotate/move the grid, and I want to be able to overlay ControlP5 items on top.

The issue is that the geometry created by an instance of my new class appears on top of the controls. Also, it rotates when I change the camera. I want it to always appear in front of the 3D geometry, and to not move when the camera is moved.

I'm attaching a zip of the work as it stands. I'd be really really grateful if someone could take a look at it, and if possible, give me some tips on where I'm going wrong. I'm sure it's something pretty simple.

Here's the file on Dropbox.

Regards,

a|x

Answers

• I think the issue is to do with rendering my VBO into the right context, but I'm not sure how to do that.

a|x

• edited May 2017

Im out of time for debug:

Just a note: i'm on windows, and you scetch looks like this:

alt text

AH I HAVE TO USE THE MOUSE :)

• Hi @ nabr!

Yeah, I have to work on the initial positions of stuff, but you can see even there that the 3D geometry is appearing ontop of the control, and that it's part of the same 3D world, whereas I want to controls to be a 2D overlay on top of everything else.

a|x

• edited May 2017

@toneburst

Yes

new ControlP5(this) means the Applet it self, you should draw the controls on an other Layer

test wise, to show what Control(this) means:

cp5 = new ControlP5(new VBO_Test(){
          PApplet a (){
            this.main(new String[]{"VBO_Test"});
             this.setup(); 
             //etc.
              return this; 
            }