Passing struct to shader

edited April 2017 in GLSL / Shaders

Hi,

Currently I'm passing an array of floats to my shader, but I'd like to pass in more complex items. From my research it seems like I'd use structs here but Java does not support them.

My object is something like this:

struct boid { vec2 position; vec2 velocity; int flock; }

Any advice on how to build an equivalent object in my Processing code to pass in?

Tagged:

Answers

• edited April 2017 Answer ✓

@crummy -- disclaimer -- I am not a shader pro. However:

I think the issue is not Java support. You could create a struct-like class with public instance variables -- as per the Sun Java Coding Guidelines -- http://stackoverflow.com/a/8565711 .

The issue seems to be that PShader.set() only accepts arrays -- not arbitrary objects.

If your goal is concision and coding convenience, you could consider a class like this:

class ShaderSettings {
        PVector position;
        PVector velocity;
        int flock;
        ShaderSettings(PVector p; PVector v; int f){
          position = p;
          velocity = v;
          flock = f;
        }
        void set(PShader ps){
          ps.set("position", position);
          ps.set("velocity", velocity);
          ps.set("flock", flock);
        }
     }

(untested)

Now:

PShader sh = loadShader("shader.glsl")
    ShaderSettings ss = new ShaderSettings(myPos, myVel, myFlock):
    ss.set(sh);

If you wanted to make it even more concise you could add another class constructor which takes the PShader and calls set immediately. Creating your "struct"(-like-object) and configuring your shader are one action.

Now:

PShader sh = loadShader("shader.glsl")
    ShaderSettings ss = new ShaderSettings(myPos, myVel, myFlock, sh);