Mouse with two scroll wheels

edited April 2017 in Questions about Code

I have a Logitech MX Master which has a vertical and horizontal scroll wheel. The following way of tracking wheel changes works only for the vertical wheel. Is there a way to do the same for the horizontal wheel?

void mouseWheel(MouseEvent event) {
  float e = event.getCount();
}

Thanks in advance, Alex

Answers

• If you're on Mac,

Horizontal scrolling is interpreted the same way as vertical scrolling, albeit with Shift held down

Source - http://stackoverflow.com/questions/22851022/horizontal-scrolling-with-mousewheellistener

• I searched a lot, but couldn't find out how Windows interprets horizontal mouse wheel scrolling.

• edited April 2017

@Lord_Of_The_Galaxy Thanks a lot for your help! I am in windows but want to give it a shot. How would I implement the code in your link?

• edited April 2017

I believe it won't work, but here it is anyway -

void setup(){
      size(500, 500);
    }

void draw(){
      background(0);
    }

public void mouseWheel(MouseEvent me){
      if(me.isShiftDown())println("Horizontal scroll");
    }  

• Why do you need the question mark at line 10?

• Damn, you got me all excited with thinking there was some new nifty syntax to be discovered! :P

• Unfortunately it doesn't work :/

• @Lord_of_the_Galaxy It is not common to process info from the MouseEvent object... I haven't seen much of it anyways here in the forum. Do you happen to have a reference to it? (It will complement this post by providing a better insight to MEvnt handling)

@Alex_Pr I will suggest doing a java + double scroll wheel search and see if anything alike have already being implemented in the Java universe. Whatever you find there, it could be use here. If Processing hasn't implemented it through their MouseEvent handling class, then you could submit a feature request.

Kf