any tips to speed up sketch with 'high' number of particles?

edited July 2016 in p5.js

I've got around 2800 particles (just calculating a couple of simple values and drawing them) but the sketch becomes quite slow (in Chrome and Firefox) ... I supposed that's to be expected? Or are there general tricks to speed something like this up?

Comments

• Try using PShape for the particle. See this tutorial.

• why would a PShape be faster than an ellipse() ?

• If you read the tutorial I linked to it explains it. I am no expert but apparently with PShape the geometry is pre-calculated and its then used for each particle. With ellipse() the shape has to be calculated for each particle.

• @quark ...but PShape doesn't appear to be available in p5.js yet :(|) :P

@Xeronimo74 - you could instead try using an image for your particle for the exact same reason: you remove any processing overhead in terms of calculating each individual ellipse; but I've no idea how well optimised p5's image object is.

Note that performance in p5 is a lot more limited than in pure Processing; largely because it's running in a browser. You will however see a significant performance boost if you use the webgl renderer - see createCanvas() - though note that this is browser/hardware dependent; so won't be available to everyone.

To get a sense of the performance gain (assuming your browser supports webgl) see these two examples:

1. p5 + canvas renderer: 2240 particles. Runs like treacle
    2. pixiJS + webgl: 9072 particles. Super smooth 60fps

pixiJS claims to be the fastest 2D JS graphics engine out there; and certainly appears to deliver on the promise; but you do have to make compromises: e.g. it's optimised for use with image sprites and not primitives. Forcing the p5 sketch above to use webgl definitely improves performance significantly and might suit your needs. I'm mostly experimenting with pixiJS these days :ar!

• edited July 2016