Can I take DMX input into Processing?

edited June 2016 in Raspberry PI

Hi all! I am brand new to the whole world of Processing so thank you for reading this ! I want to do a project where I take DMX into processing and change colors on a screen. I am using a raspberry pi.

Is this possible?

Thank you!!!

Tagged:

Answers

• Yes, if you can find a Java library that can connect to a DMX input device. The answer will then very much depend on your setup. Are you using a program or a standalone device? Do you have an interface? Are you working with art-net? Do you need to use DMX or can it be something else like osc?

• thank you!

I dont really know what I am doing yet... my idea was to use Processing to output a single color to the screen. I don't necessarily NEED to use DMX, it is just the most familiar to me.

Basically I am trying to use 30 CRT tvs (they take composite video in) and have each one be its own color that i can change via a DMX controller or a master computer.

any ideas?

• 30! That would be hard without a very expensive video card, even if they are analog. Do they just need to be an uniform colour? Maybe you can create a tool that converts digital RGB data to the analog input your tvs require. I don't know enough about tv standards to help you further though.

• No i want all the TVs to change color according to DMX input. Essentially they will each be their own lighting fixture (think of them as a standard RGB LED)

Im just trying to figure out if I can use Processing to read DMX input and output a single color to the monitor.

• edited June 2016

basically i want to do something like this:: (each pixel will be a TV) and be able to change the color of each pixel (tv) how i want. I work in the lighting industry so I was thinking about using the DMX protocol.

• Never mind the controlling! How are you thinking of interfacing the TVs to the computer/raspi? If you have an RGB value in Processing, how are you going to get that to a TV?