A newbie with a question about controlling video in Processing via Arduino

edited January 2016 in Arduino

Hi there,

I'm completely new to both Arduino and Processing and pulling my hair out over a 'wouldn't it be cool?' project I've started and now have got utterly stuck on. It's certainly a niche kind of thing. Essentially, what I'm attempting to do is transition between three video pieces based on the level of of RF/EMF detected using the Arduino setup found here: https://code.google.com/p/arduino-rfsensor/ this link contains full documentation.

The good news is, this is all working and is outputting data through the serial port, as it should. This is shown as MinScale MaxScale, Analog Value and Decibels (this runs from a value of -60 to -2 at the extremes. These are separated by commas not @ signs as shown in the code linked, I don't know if that makes a difference. The problem I'm having is in Processing at present, I don't know how to extrapolate the decibel value alone as the source, I want it to be interpreted as a kind of off/low - medium and high signal value with the video files kicking in and out as different levels are reached.

At the moment it semi works in that when the Arduino is switched on, the video files are displayed, but seemingly uniformly alternating between them and that's it. No response to changes in value from the Arduino, not that you'll be surprised when you see the code. I'll paste that below - go easy on me, I really do have no idea what I'm doing, but I'm keen to learn for any mad future ideas I dream up.

So there's three key questions... Does the Baud rate from the Arduino serial have a huge bearing on Processing's ability to deal with it? It's set at 115200 at present, not the default value,

The video currently plays at half it's expected speed - it's full HD resolution, which I suppose is not good for a Java based system.. How can I optimise this?