Creating a background which fades trough all color values

edited May 2016 in How To...

Hello everyone, I am a beginner in processing and need some help :/ I am looking for a code that allows me to create a background which fades trough all color values. I've already searched on google without any result, just some fades from black to white. After some experimets I wasnt able to create that kind of background with an smooth fade between different colors. If anyone can come up with an easy, begginer friendly solution I would really apreciate it.

Answers

• an animated fade? or just a graduation from one side of the screen to the other?

https://processing.org/reference/colorMode_.html

• edited May 2016

It should look like this, but changing trough all color values instead of white to black:

color fillcolour=255;
    float colourincrement=1;

void setup()
    {
      size(400, 400);
      frameRate(30);
      smooth();
      noStroke();
      background(0);
    }

void draw()
    {
      if (fillcolour>0) fillcolour-=colourincrement;
      background(fillcolour);
    } 

• look at HSB colormode. use frameCount % (number of colors) as first argument to color().

• Thanks koogs, but I didnt get it ^^ Im really new to processing and tried it out, without a result :(

• well, i could write it for you but then you'd learn nothing.

try setting colorMode(HSB, 360, 100, 100); in your setup, no other changes, see what it does...

• it still look's the same :-S

• edited May 2016

that's because you're calling color() with only one parameter. try

background(fillcolour, 50, 50);

(which is another option on the background() page -

background(v1, v2, v3)
    v1 float: red or hue value (depending on the current color mode)
    v2 float: green or saturation value (depending on the current color mode)
    v3 float: blue or brightness value (depending on the current color mode)

)

• edited May 2016

Should it look like this now?