using parent variables in eclipse

Is there a simpler way to reference processing functions in classes than using parent.method ? It's pretty tedious to do that when writing classes.

I am new to writing straight Java so I am still learning basic things like public and static voids. My apologies if the question is obvious.

Tagged:

Answers

• edited December 2013

Is there a simpler way to reference processing functions in classes than using parent.method ?

this sounds like you're doing something wrong. post some code.

processing is odd in that classes are actually inner classes because the code is wrapped in a class during compilation - export something as an application and then look for a java file in the exported directory to see what i mean.

(edit: sorry, i missed the 'in eclipse' part)

• edited December 2013

When a Processing program starts, a PApplet object is created!
    In order for another library or an independent class (top-class) to access it, they indeed need a passed reference to it! :-&

• edited December 2013

My own code is too verbose to post right now, however I am following what is directed to do by Shiffman and others:

learningprocessing.com/tutorials/processing-in-eclipse/

The errors are all on lines where we call a Processing function (such as rect()) or reference a Processing variable (such as width). This is because a Stripe is not a PApplet and knows nothing about PApplets! We might be tempted to have Stripe extend PApplet, but this would be a fatal error. A Stripe is not a PApplet. A Stripe is a rectangular object that we want to draw onto a PApplet. What PApplet do we want to draw onto? The PApplet that is MyProcessingSketch. Instead of extending PApplet, we simply want to tell a Stripe object about a MyProcessingSketch.

public class Stripe {
      PApplet parent; // The parent PApplet that we will render ourselves onto

In the constructor, we initialize the parent:

Stripe(PApplet p) {
        parent = p;