Processing Threads, Synchronization of Variables across threads!

edited February 2016 in Kinect

Hi all, hope someone can shed some light on this. This is my first time working with threads in processing I'm using a simple implementation of thread("somemethod"). Within somemethod() I have a globally declared boolean being altered but this is not being recognised by other functions in the main draw() loop?! simplified code below :)

simplified code shown in the post below.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

In a nutshell how do you get a variable (boolean) state change in one thread to affect the state of the same boolean in another thread? :)

Answers

• Please format your code for the forum.

• edited February 2016

whoops, lets try that again..

volatile boolean readyToCapture = false; 
    volatile boolean readyToStream = true; 
    volatile boolean pushToDetect = false;

void setup() {
      // init some things here
    }

void draw() {
      if (readyToStream == true) {
        RGBvideo = kinect.getVideoImage();
      }
      // Draw the PointCloud to the Screen
      if (readyToStream == true) {
        kinectPointCloud();
      } else { 
        capturedPointCloud();
      }
      if (readyToCapture == true) { 
        if (frameCount % 2 == 0) {
          thread("faceDetect"); //
          // ISSUE IS HERE! readyToStream is set to false in the faceDetect() 
          // method however this is not carried into the other methods in the 
          // primary draw loop?!
        }
      }

if (pushToDetect == true) {
        thread("pushRequest"); 
        pushToDetect = false;
      }
    } 

formating fixed by moderator

this is a simplified version of the actual code.. please refer to the question above! thanks

• edited February 2016

ISSUE IS HERE! readyToStream is set to false in the faceDetect()...

Wouldn't be much easier & safer to simply issue readyToStream = false; before thread("faceDetect");?