Continual RESTful request to JSON on server, parse on the fly, render data inside P5js draw loop.

edited December 2015 in p5.js Library Questions

Hi All, I am doing an agent-based model in Go (golang.org). I am a final year CS student working on a research project for in conjunction with researchers in the Biology department at my university.

I need a web-client viewport which will render the 'state' (i.e. position etc) of each agent within the 2D environment which is handled on the server. There are tens of thousands of agents (potentially millions) which necessitates a true concurrent programming and runtime environment (hence why I am doing it in Go) – this is way too much overhead to be done entirely in a sketch or even dynamically on the client side. Therefore the actual drawing is offloaded to the client, but all the computation (beyond JSON unmarshalling and coordinate translation to the world space of the sketch/viewport) is done on a dedicated server.

I also come from art school prior to going into computer science, and I really like Processing/P5 as it directly gives you the drawing/animation environment and nothing else (unless you want to go digging under the hood). It's much faster to iterate and get what you want on screen. I know what I want to do can be done in HTML5 canvas only, or in Javascript + CSS but it's unnecessarily laborious and P5 has all the drawing functionality I need with a very easy to use API. Learning one language (Go) for this project is more than enough for me.