Websocket library -- Make your own Websocket server

Hi all,

I've recently created a library that allows a Processing sketch to act as a Websocket server. This is in the opposite direction of making the sketch communicating to a server running Node.js or so, and hopefully can give you guys more control in using Processing :D

Along with it is an interesting example which allows one to use a mobile phone to wirelessly control the box drawn in the sketch. All you need is just a place to host the html file and a computer that runs Processing.

The library and code are available through GitHub now: https://github.com/thisisvictor/WSProcessor

If possible I'd like to make it available through the Processing>Library. Please let me know how this can be done, or should I be contacting anyone in particular.

Questions and comments are welcome. This is my first time making Processing library so please pardon me for missing any important info.

Thanks and have fun!

-victor

Tagged:

Comments

• edited September 2014

Nicely coded, @thisisvictor! :-bd

Due to Processing's community tweak-ish nature, it'd be gr8 if you'd restrain declaring class' members as private though.
    Ya know, protected access is more balanced, as it allows subclassing while disallows direct manipulation! (*)

Also, those last utility methods could be all declared static, since they don't directly access class' members!
    And I believe there's no danger at declaring some of them public as well!
    Who knows it might be useful outside your own library! ;;)

• Thanks for the kind words and suggestions @GoToLoop.