3D picking_Python mode

edited March 2016 in Python Mode

Hello!

I'm a beginner who's trying to pick a 3D box with a mouse click using the Shapes 3D and PeasyCam libraries in Python mode.

I referred to this previous discussion: http://forum.processing.org/two/discussion/4066/peasycam-cursor-location-in-comparison-to-objects-shapes3d-#Item_9, but I'm getting a NullPointerException.

Here's the code:

add_library('Shapes3d')
add_library('peasycam')

clicked = False 
picked = None

Boxes = [] 

def setup():
    size(400,400,P3D)
    cursor(CROSS) 

cam = PeasyCam(this, 150) 
    cam.setMinimumDistance(50)
    cam.setMaximumDistance(300)
    cam.setYawRotationMode()

b = Box(this,30,60,100)
    b.fill(0)
    b.stroke(color(0,255,0))
    b.strokeWeight(2)
    b.drawMode(S3D.WIRE)
    Boxes.append(b) 

def draw():

background(0)

rotateX(1.57)
    rotateZ(-.75)

if clicked :
        clicked = False
        picked = Shape3D.pickShape(this, mouseX, mouseY) 
        if picked != None:    
            print 'preso!'      

Boxes[0].draw()

def mouseClicked():
    clicked = True

Can someone take a look over this?

Thank you,

Marco

Tagged:

Answers

• As written, that code shouldn't even run at all. The indentation is incorrect.

What is the exact error message?

• sorry, something happened during the copy process, indentation above is now ok. the message says:

processing.app.SketchException: java.lang.NullPointerException: java.lang.NullPointerException at jycessing.mode.run.SketchRunner.convertPythonSketchError(SketchRunner.java:242) at jycessing.mode.run.SketchRunner.access$4(SketchRunner.java:221) at jycessing.mode.run.SketchRunner$3.run(SketchRunner.java:117) at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)

• I wonder whether the sketch's reference is indeed stored in variable this or self? :-/