What is a natural learning path to create a processing library for a newbie?

Hi everyone,

I am new to processing and only able to code simple applications with processing at this moment. However, I have some ideas for a processing library, and wonder how to start learning toward this goal of creating my first processing library.

I found myself lack of knowledge of comprehending details in libraries Basics in github . Neither the handbook by Reas and Fry and LearningProcessing by Shiffman seemed to teach building libraries. Does it mean a newbie need to learn building libraries for processing from elsewhere, like a course in Java? Is it possible for a newbie to learn building processing libraries within the realm of processing without going out to learn another course of Java? (I am glad to learn Java if it is what takes to build a library)

What would be a natural learning path to take for a newbie who is at the moment just able to create simple apps in processing to create a library for processing?

Thank you

Answers

• edited October 2015

This is as far I've got to make a Processing library:
    https://forum.Processing.org/two/discussion/12532/windowjs-cross-mode-alert-confirm-prompt-other-js-api-for-java

Never advanced further than that yet. :-\"

• Answer ✓

The guides for creating libraries are written by programmers so are guaranteed to be unintelligible to newbies ;)

The first thing to do is keep it simple, don't worry about creating cross mode libraries start by focusing on libraries for Java mode.

I don't know how much Java you know but to create libraries you must be able to create classes in Java. As you develop and move onto large more complex libraries a good understanding of object orientation would be very helpful.