How does one go about making member fields in a class actually private in processing?

Hi, I'm new to processing, and am using it primarily because we have adopted it at our school as the language to use with our AP Computer Principles course. Some of the "sandboxed from java" aspects of it have me a little frustrated. In particular, I cannot manage to disallow direct access to member fields from outside the class to force the use of getter method.

I can accept that in processing all member fields in a class are accessible by default - probably package-private - as they are in Java. But I can't seem to change this. The use of "private" before a field declaration is NOT disallowing direct access to the attribute from outside the class. Why is private not working? For example, in the code below, the miles instance variable can be directly accessed (and even set!) after the object is instantiated despite the use of the private keyword in its declaration.

In a separate "tab" to define a class

class Car {
    String make;
    private int miles;

Car(String m, int d) {
    make = m;
    miles = d;
  }

void drive(int dist) {
    miles += dist;
  }
}

Then, in a sketch

void setup() {
     Car herbie = new Car("Ford", 5); 
     print(herbie.miles + "\n");
     herbie.miles = 7;
     print(herbie.miles + "\n");
     herbie.drive(43);
     print(herbie.miles +"\n");

I thought that maybe in the example above it was owing to the fact that processing does something funny with the classes defined in tabs associated with a given sketch to allow direct access from within the setup() function. But this disrespect for "private" is true even if I construct another class that instantiates a Car object within its own constructor (or in some other function for that matter.) and then accesses miles directly. In that case I am clearly accessing the car's member field from a completely different class.

Isn't there a way to protect instance variables in processing?

Answers