Never ending animation from right to left?

Hello,

I am pretty new to processing. What I am trying to do is to create an animation of some kind of a continuous random crack which will go from right to left in the screen on a never ending flow.

I can't get my head around how to draw outside the bounds of the screen and then make it appear on the screen moving what was previously on the screen outside of it.

If anyone can point me in the right direction I will really appreciate it.

Thanks!

Answers

• I'm not sure what you mean. Do you want the crack to reappear on the right side of the screen, or do you want it to appear like the screen is following the crack?

Can you post the code you have so far in the form of an MCVE?

• The sketch window's coordinates are from (0, 0) in the upper left corner to whatever you have set for width and height in the size() function. You can draw outside the screen on the left and top by using the - sign. For example, if you draw a circle like this: ellipse(-100, -100, 30, 30); the thirty-pixel-wide ellipse will not be visible because it is outside of the sketch window.

The general idea is to take your shape and subtract x values each frame to get it to move right to left across the sketch window. Then you need some kind of test to check whether it has moved far enough left. When that test is true, you reset the x coordinate to the right.

Try this:

int xPos = 350; // outside the sketch window for this size graphic
    void setup(){
    size(300, 300);
    }

void draw(){
      background(0);
      ellipse(xPos, 150, 30, 30);
      xPos -=2;
      // here's the test and reset
      if(xPos < -20){
        xPos = 350;
      }
    }

• @GeorgeRoland We aren't sure that's what the OP is looking for, so please refrain from offering full-code solutions.

• Thanks @GeorgeRoland and @KevinWorkman!

First of all thanks for the quick answers and excuse my english.