create a callable java void

Hi there, Im wondering if anyone could help me out real quick. Im making a programming involving a lot of custom buttons (+40). Im using java and netbeans to write the program, Im totally new to processing in general so If you could help me out itd be greatly appriciated. Im trying to make a separate class file that i can call to create a object (like a button for example). heres a sample:

File: WordDoc

import static java.lang.System.out;

public class WordDoc {
    public static void RUN(String string) {
        out.println(string);                
    }
}

This is the Main file to go with WordDoc.

File: Printer

public class Printer {
    public static void main(String args[]) {
        WordDoc.RUN("whatever you want to say");             
    }
}

That works just fine. whatever I put into the ( ) prints out when the program is run. What i need is to make something that would allow me to do this:

void draw()  {
    rect(4,4,4,4); //normal processing is in the file i want to call the button in.

ButtonClass.NewButton(X,Y,Width,Height,Color etc);  // this is the line i need

How could I do this? I already tried this:

import processing.core.*;
public class Button extends InkWDStartwindow {  //I dont know if that works, but it fixes errors raised by rect().
    public static void Button(short X,short Y,short Wide,short Tall) {
        public void draw() {
            rect(X,Y,Wide,Tall);            
        }            
    }

Thanks Guys!

Answers

• Sorry if the line formatting is weird... it was fine when i pasted it in

• Fixed the line formatting.. could someone please help me with the posted question?

• I don't understand your message at all. You show two classes, WordDoc and Printer, then you show ButtonClass.NewButton() which is unrelated to the first two, and remains unknown.

Normally, you create a new instance with the new keyword.

See also the tutorial Objects.