Processing speed

edited January 2015 in General Discussion

I have some friends who are programmers, and every time we talk, they start telling me, that I should invest more time into learning some serious language (C sharp, or some other alternative), rather than write my programs in Processing which is just a "wrapper of Java".

Their main point is that C#, for instance, is much faster, than Processing. And, as long as, Processing is not even fully Java, it is even slower, than Java.

Now, I am not a programmer, so I don't know much about the "speed" of different languages. Could someone clarify the issue for me. Is Processing really very "slow"? Does it really matter if I run it on my PC, which has more computing power, than, say a tablet.

Answers

• Answer ✓

Their main point is that C#, for instance, is much faster, than Processing

[citation needed]

both java and c# compile down to intermediate code that runs on a virtual machine. i doubt you'd notice much difference in speed between the two. but you won't be running c# on linux or a mac without a lot of hoop-jumping though.

(if you'd've said c++ then that would be a different matter as that produces native code that doesn't use a virtual machine. and will generally be faster. but how much depends on so many different things.)

and processing won't be any slower than java. it's not really a wrapper, it's a library, to make doing graphical things a lot easier.

get more interesting friends 8)

• It is not a wrapper for java. It's a dialect as they like to call it. It takes things away like having to declare things public / private / protected. All you can do in java can be done in processing.