A quick question about screenshots

Is it possible to take automatic screenshots or does it have to be manual with keyPressed, mousePressed, etceteras?

Answers

• you can call saveFrame() anyhow you want. say on a timer or other condition.

• edited December 2014
    // forum.processing.org/two/discussion/8467/
    // a-quick-question-about-screenshots

static final int FPS = 60, INTERVAL = 5 * 1000; // 5 seconds

void setup() {
      size(300, 200, JAVA2D);
      frameRate(FPS);
      thread("timedShots");
    }

void draw() {
      background((color) random(#000000));
    }

void timedShots() {
      for (;; delay(INTERVAL))  saveFrame(dataPath("####.jpg"));
    }

• Thank you, koogs and GoToLoop for the responses!

GoToLoop, I'm new to Processing so your code is a bit confusing.

However, I was able to implement a timer that would go off every minute, however whenever it screenshots, it takes a picture every time the program redraws (and it adds up to being thousands of photos).

I tried to put saveFrame into setup but the way my program is setup, it makes it glitch out.

I see that there is a void timedShots, should I use that in order to make it take one photo every minute?

• edited December 2014

I'm new to Processing so your code is a bit confusing.

Feel free to ask what you didn't get! :-c

I see that there is a void timedShots, should I use that in order to make it take one photo every minute?

In order to use timedShots() in your own code, you should understand how it works!
    You gotta adjust INTERVAL for your needs, and invoke it via thread("") within setup(). :-B

I wonder if you had run it the way it is and checked out it indeed screenshots each 5 seconds? :-?

• Thank you!

I ran your program, looked in the sketchbook and it would screenshot every five seconds.

I understand the part where INTERVAL needs to be modified to fit my needs, however I'm wondering what thread and delay does.