I'm new to Processing & need to use Array Lists (I think)

edited October 2013 in Questions about Code

Hello everyone, I'm working on my first Processing project and need to store coordinates in an array list. I've looked at the documentation online and I'm still a bit lost.

I'm drawing lines and I'm storing them as PVectors. I'd like to put these PVectors inside an array list. I'm unsure how I should do it. I'm very new to programming in general so I may be using the wrong terminology.

The next step for the program should be to draw a new line between two coordinates that have been drawn already so I'm thinking the best way should be to store every PVector line in an array list and somehow call two of them at random.

The step after that (which I'm not too concerned about just now) would be to find out if the new line intersects any others and create a new "crosshair" point at that coordinate.

Project objective: To replicate an old method of starting a traditional pen & paper drawing by subdividing a page into compositional shapes. This method was created by Loomis and can be seen here: http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-2p98h4ha6v4/UD0Ch2jhqeI/AAAAAAAABb8/0VeSfKP3_jU/s1600/loomisinformalsubdivision.jpg

I'd appreciate any help or mentorship. Let me know if I haven't explained everything clearly.

THanks, James

Here's the project as it stands just now (no array lists yet)

//Two arrays. One with coordinates, one with length & slope of lines.

//Set width & height of canvas
//Draw diagonal line (one of two possible diagonals) (add diagonal vertice points to array)
//Draw the vertical line with random x (add vertical vertice points to array)
//Find where lines intersect (add point to array)
//Draw horizontal line at intersection point (add vertices of this new line to array)
//Pick two vertices from array and draw line between them IF it will intersect an existing line

float rand=random(1);
float xrand;

PVector p1, p2, p3, p4, intersection, coords;

void setup(){