PrintWriter, CreateWriter, Windows and Linux

edited October 2013 in Questions about Code

Hello chaps, first post on the new forums (if I recall I was el_matt or something on the old one) to ask a question about using PrintWriter and CreateWriter in Processing 2.0.3 to log data.

I have written a relatively large (by my standards- but no more than a couple of thousand lines) app for viewing and logging data from an experiment (I'm a researcher) which works exactly as I expect when run in a Processing 2.0 instance on a Linux machine (I don't recall exactly what distro it is, something Debian-like, but I don't think that should matter). Some snippets from the code should give you the gist:

PrintWriter output;
  void testIfPressed() {
    if (sqrt(pow(mouseX - xPos, 2) + pow(mouseY - yPos, 2)) < radius) {
      recording = !recording;
      if (recording) {
        unique = general + str(year()) + "-" + str(month()) + "-" + str(day()) + dirSeparator + str(hour()) + ":" + str(minute()) + ":" + str(second()) + ".csv";
        output = createWriter(unique);  
        println("Recording");
      }
      else {          
        output.flush(); 
        output.close();
        println("Stopped");
      }
    }
  }
void exportData() {
  println("Exporting...");
  String s_y1 = "" + factor1*y1;
  String s_y2 = "" + factor2*y2;
  String sep = "\t";
  String outString = s_y1 + sep + s_y2 + sep + y3;
  output.println(outString);
}