G4P - Closing windows

edited October 2014 in Library Questions

Hello everyone!

I'm quite new at processing and I'm having an issue with closing windows and the G4P Tool. I've created a main window from where I want to choose a set of parameters to configure (checkbox). So far, I've managed to create the main window and the other windows for parameter configuration. This other set of windows is closing when I press the X button (Windows OS close). But I can't seem to keep that behavior going. If I try to repeat the close action, after opening and closing a first time, the window.setActionOnClose(window.CLOSE_WINDOW) doesn't work anymore. I was thinking that the best option would be to create the second window set only after making the selection on the main window but fiddling with the createGUI() function is not an option (every change on the GUI Builder will revert my changes) I've attached the files here: http://we.tl/ejQjB64Gmr

Can anyone help? Thanks!

Answers

• edited March 2014 Answer ✓

The problem with using the X button (Windows) to close the configuration windows is that G4P will attempt to release the resources allocated to the window, so if you attempt to re-use a closed wIndow the results will be unpredictable. This is true no matter how the window was closed.

If you have a program with a window that you only want to use now-and-again, then leave the window close action as KEEP_OPEN and simply change the windows visibility. You can later use the forceClose() method when the window is no longer required, but once closed - DO NOT ATTEMPT TO USE IT AGAIN.

but fiddling with the createGUI() function is not an option (every change on the GUI Builder will revert my changes)

GUI Builder makes it quite clear in the gui.tab that the only safe place to place your own code is inside the event handlers.

GUI Builder cannot be used to set every single option available in G4P, but it is safe to tweak GUI created, but only AFTER the call to createGUI()