Process video (overlay, transparency)

I'm working on a video project where I have to do the same thing again and again to a set of files in Final Cut. I'm a beginning programmer but thought this might be a chance to write something to automate this process in Processing instead.

Does Processing have capabilities for processing video? I see how to capture and display video files, but I've found little on processing those files.

Specifically, I need to take a 4k file (any format you like) and overlay it with another file, at a certain position. I may want to overlay many files, each at a certain position (i.e. offset from the first frame by a specific number of frames with the offset being different for each overlay). I need to set the transparency for each overlay independently.

Can someone point me in the right direction for references, etc? If Processing is the wrong choice for this is there another "easy to use" solution out there?

Thanks,

--Darin

Tagged:

Answers

• Check https://forum.processing.org/two/search?Search=videoexport

You can install the VideoExport library through the library manager in the Processing IDE. Check the provided examples, which you can access via Filles>>Examples and then under Contributed Libraries folder.

Kf

• I'm sorry, kfrajer, I don'r understand. I don't see how to overlay video clips with VideoExport...do I have to learn ffmpeg?

• edited November 2017

@darinb If you want to but you don't have to. Take three movies and name them m1, m2, m3 with mp4 extension. Place them in your data folder of your brand new recently created sketch and add the code below there.

This only loads three movies and play them in the same sketch. Press the key 'q' to exit the sketch and save the movie. This new generated movie contains the three previous movies with offsets. For transparency, this might or might not work.

Kf

import com.hamoid.*;

VideoExport videoExport;
    import processing.video.*;

final int NMOV=3;