Simulating traffic movement / pedestrian movement

Hey guys!

I'm a university student that is developing an open source software that can make people simulate their cities from real city data. The problem is that I do not have any idea how to simulate all these pedestrians / cars moving around following a pattern in a time lapse(depending if it's a student or a worker for example).

I tried to do at first the map graph so we can set points and routes but I do not really know if that's the way I have to start, something similar to this example :

I would like to do something similar to this : .

Thanks!

Answers

• Answer ✓

The problem can be split into two parts

1) modelling the city data (roads and intersections etc)

2) collecting the movement data and displaying it

If you are planning to do a real city then (1) is a huge task and you might look for online services to get the data which might also provide API that might help with the visuals in part 2

Alternatively you might look at the AI for 2D Games library some of the examples might give you some ideas.

• edited August 2017 Answer ✓

Ad 2) Do you have those data? Can you post some 20 lines of them here (format them as code please).

Do they contain gps data? Then maybe unfolding map or so could be valuable for (1)

• Hey guys! Thank you for the quick answers.

quark:

You are right, that's what I have to do. I was thinking about building a graph and then build the routes (I'll do it manually at first). The problem is animating the cars and everything, but looking at AI for 2d games might be a good solution.

I forgot to mention that I'll display everything following the Lévy flight (more information here): https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lévy_flight

I do work with the City Hall of my city so I'll be able to have all that information.

Chrisir: