Importing Complex Python Modules into Processing

edited September 2016 in Python Mode

Hello people,

I'm currently using PyGame to build games on python, however exporting becomes rather difficult as Py2Exe and Py2App are almost the only ways to do so and are not very effective. I tried to using the wonderful exporting mechanic in Processing (in Python mode), but this opened a Pandora's box of problems.

1. How do you import modules in Processing.py ? I read that if the module is in the form of a PY file it is simply to be located in the same folder as the sketch. But some modules, like PyGame, are more complex and require an installer or a wheel (WHL file, which is installed through PIP).

2. During some testing, I tried to export a simple one-line program ( print('a') ) but the 'application.windows64' folder was missing an EXE file. I'm not an expert, but I think that might be a problem :)

Thanks in advance!!

Tagged:

Answers

• Python Mode is based on Jython, which in turn is written in Java.
    So we can only use compiled Java libraries in Jython, sorry. :(

https://en.Wikipedia.org/wiki/Jython

• It seems as though I can import libraries from external PY files though...

• As long as it's a "pure" Python library, not some "compiled" 1, we can use it in Jython.

• Hey follks. Olher than adding a 'x.py' tab and using 'form x import *' how to add Python libraries to the Jython that makes Processing Python Mode work?

• edited August 2017

PDE recognizes ".jar" files inside sketch's subfolder "code/". ~O)
    Any compiled code from any JVM language can be import this way. \m/

• edited August 2017

@villares -- it seems like you want to install a library into the mode itself, so that the library is then available for any sketch to import on that machine without the code needing to be present in each sketch folder?