How to switch to multiple states within a current state using individual keys?

I am currently trying to code some form of interactive fiction using Processing. I am relatively new to coding so please go easy on me. I attempted to use switch case and set up each possibility from each page within a case and then switch between them using void keyPressed(){ but I do not think I understand the code enough to be able to pull it off. It is going to be a tree of cases effectively as each case will need to have the option to switch to three other cases using 'a' 'b' and 'c' within itself and then all three options need to be able to do the same. I'm expecting it'll be a case of get the code correct for the first branch of the tree then be able to just keep duplicating it but I cannot get it right.

Is there a better way to achieve what I'm trying, or does anybody have any example code I can look at?

Tagged:

Answers

• This is what i've got so far but it does not work.

int gameState = 0;

void setup() {
      size(600, 600);
    }

void draw() {
      background(255);
      fill(0);
            text("title",250, 250);
            if(keyPressed ==true){
            gameState=1;
            }
    }
    void keyPressed() {
      switch(gameState) {  
      case 1:
        background(200);
            fill(0);
          text("STORY TEXT 1 AND OPTIONS",250, 250);
    //answer a
          if (key == 'a') {
          gameState=2;
    //answer b
        } else if (key == 'b') {
          gameState=3;
    //answer c
        } else if (key == 'c') {
          gameState=4;    
        }
        break;

case 2:
        background(255, 0, 0);
            fill(0);
          text("A",250, 250);
         break; 

case 3:
        background(0, 255, 0);
        fill(0);
          text("B",250, 250);
         break; 

case 4:
        background(0, 255, 0);
        fill(0);
          text("C",250, 250);
           break; 

• it does not work