Hi, I am new to processing and trying to do simple(averaged?) wave forms from Minim MonitorInput.

Hi, I am new to processing and trying to do simple(averaged?) wave forms from Minim MonitorInput. The waveform I keep having has complex spectrum of waveform but I am trying to simplify the points of waveforms. Or how can I change it to the linear averages? which will produce averaged data of input sound?

Thanks.

/** * This sketch demonstrates how to monitor the currently active audio input * of the computer using an AudioInput. What you will actually * be monitoring depends on the current settings of the machine the sketch is running on. * Typically, you will be monitoring the built-in microphone, but if running on a desktop * it's feasible that the user may have the actual audio output of the computer * as the active audio input, or something else entirely. *

<

p> * Press 'm' to toggle monitoring on and off. *

<

p> * When you run your sketch as an applet you will need to sign it in order to get an input. *

<

p> * For more information about Minim and additional features, * visit http://code.compartmental.net/minim/ */

import ddf.minim.*;

Minim minim; AudioInput in;

import hypermedia.net.*; UDP udps;

void setup() { size(70, 70, P3D); udps = new UDP( this, 6000 );

minim = new Minim(this);

// use the getLineIn method of the Minim object to get an AudioInput in = minim.getLineIn(); }

void draw() { background(0); stroke(100); String message = "";

// draw the waveforms so we can see what we are monitoring for(int i = 0; i < in.bufferSize() - 1; i++) { rect( i, 50 + in.left.get(i)50, i+1, 50 + in.left.get(i+1)50 ); rect( i, 150 + in.right.get(i)50, i+1, 150 + in.right.get(i+1)50 ); float x1 = map(i, 0, in.bufferSize(), 0, width); float x2 = 20 + in.left.get(i)*10;

message = message + String.valueOf(x1) + "," + String.valueOf(x2)+ ";";

}